P4 Montage

JordanPope-P4-Montage-Creation

Description: Montage Project that utilizes multiple images into one design that presents and inspirational message.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, Steps taken while designing): First I found the images that I wanted, based on the idea that I had. Once I had found the images, I brought them into Photoshop for editing. I got the page set up with background and then brought in the images. I masked them how I wanted them, adjusted them how they needed adjustments, and placed the text where I wanted it. I adjusted size and opacity of the layer in general as well as with masks. After critique for ideas for improvement as well as confirmation of my own ideas, I changed placement, orientation, as well as introducing more of the pinkish purple through the piece.

Message: The message I wanted to convey is the idea of the Divine power of creation that follows the rules of design and then our striving as children of God to mimic that power through art and design. Nature follows Fibonacci spirals and sequences, everything from butterflies to the human form follow the golden ratio which relates to the rule of thirds which we use in design. The ink/paint splatters hail to the use of paint and other art media to create beautiful pieces of art.

Audience: The audience is designed more towards artists and designers that create pieces of art though painting, layout, web pages, etc.

Top Thing Learned: I learned that masking is a powerful tool that can be utilized in a number of ways to provide useful effects non-destructively.

Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied: I used a hue/saturation filter and a photo filter on the flower. I used a photo filter on the butterfly. I used brightness/contrast and levels on all images for minor adjustments before the images were brought in.

Color scheme and color names: Analogous scheme utilizing brick, red, and violet.

Title Font Name & Category: Ariel, Sans serif

Copy Font Name & Category: Adobe Garamond Pro, Oldstyle

Thumbnails of Images used:

Fibonacci-Spiral2 IMG_0764 tumblr_ndhuujChXq1qigaa4o1_1280 VitruvianMan_Leonardo_a Mydocument (2)

Sources (Links to images on original websites / with title of site): Butterfly: http://scientificillustration.tumblr.com/image/100636811978 Scientific Illustration, Vitruvian Man: http://all-free-download.com/free-photos/man_leonardo_da_vinci_the_vitruvian_man_213878.html Google Search, Flower: http://www.morguefile.com/archive/display/928973 Morgefile, Golden Spiral png: http://filmmakeriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/Fibonacci-Spiral2.png Google Search. Splatter is a ink splattered on paper and scanned, all by me.

2 thoughts on “P4 Montage”

  1. Jordan, I love your montage project! This is by far one of the most impressive ones I have seen. You did a great job applying what you learned in class. I like the contrasting typography, I think it works well with the inspirational message you are sending. I like the use of white space and the focal point the images you chose lead your eyes through the design. I think you did a great job and it looks great as a whole!! When I was looking though our class mates blogs I found that Courtney’s Project is great! If you get a moment check her’s out at http://cateicheira.wordpress.com/2014/10/24/project-4-montage/

    Like

Leave a Reply

