P3 Photodesign Project

JordanPope-P3-Photodesign-Pirates

Description: This is a “Sample Photodesign” that utilizes a full  bleed photo and a specific color scheme. My design is focused towards groups of sailors that fear singing pirates.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): This started with the set-up of the photo. I knew I wanted to use my little pirate ships and wanted a red-ish/orange-ish color scheme because it works well with my boat. I set up lighting and everything how I wanted and shot my photos, keeping in my the rule of thirds, leading room, focus, and lighting from the activity. I then brought the photo into Photoshop and played with adjustment layers to start working with what I wanted it to look like. Utilizing an analogous color scheme I design the basics of what colors tints/shades I wanted and where I wanted them to go. I then utilized my skills in Adobe Illustrator to design some of the shapes in a vector design. I then imported the shapes back into Photoshop, laid the text on there and readjusted some of the layers to get the colors closer into focus. I had the design critiqued and then continued to make adjustments. I had originally set it to be just a warning against pirates, saying “Terror of the Seven Seas” but my font made it look like “Tenor”. I then liked the fun I could have with it and made more adjustments.

Message: The message is to beware the Singing Pirates, the Tenor of the Seven Seas.

Audience: The audience is any who seek riches on the high seas. As well as those who seek to see an example of my work in Photoshop to design photos, as is what is presented for the prompt of the project.

Top Thing Learned: The top thing that I learned was more in the designing of photos, working with the rule of thirds, focus, and leading. Focus one of the biggest things. There is a lot of control with a focal point between detail and background elements.

Color scheme and color names: Analogous Color Scheme using Brick, Orange, and Gold.

Title Font Name & Category: Celtic Garamond the 2nd, Decorative-Oldstyle

Copy Font Name & Category: Gill Sans MT Regular, San serif

Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted

DSC02182

Date and location you took the photo(s) Date: Thursday, October 16th 2014, Location: My apartment bedroom

3 thoughts on “P3 Photodesign Project”

  1. Wow, incredible! I love the lighting around the picture. The ship definitely gathered my attention as a focal point. I think the font mixed very well with the theme and message you were trying to get across. The foreground is very clear, and the background was blurred but still perfect visual and eye-capturing. Overall, very nicely done!

    Like

  2. Jordon your design is impeccable! There is nothing about it that I would change. It looks so professional and awesome. The color scheme and font takes me back to that time period and really piques my interest. I think that your message is communicated clearly to your audience and the gestalt is visually pleasing! It was also out of the box design wise not just boxes or circles and that kind of thing, I loved the swirls and ocean movement.
    So great job! Keep it up!
    Link to Tiffany’s blog —-> http://tiffanycontreras.wordpress.com/2014/09/15/design/

    Like

Leave a Reply

